under the direction of the minister of Indian affairs and northern development. The commissioner spends funds voted by council and all new revenue measures are subject to council approval. Normally the commissioner obtains federal approval of proposed legislation and budgetary measures before submitting them to council.

The Council of the Northwest Territories consists of 15 members elected for four years. It meets at least twice a year, usually for four weeks at a winter session and two weeks at a spring session, but more often if required. A clerk of council and a legal adviser provide the main administrative assistance. Debates are recorded verbatim.

The Northwest Territories Act gives the territorial council authority to legislate in most areas of government activity except for natural resources other than game; these are reserved to the federal government. Legislation must receive three readings and have the assent of the commissioner. The federal government may disallow any ordinance within one year. The commissioner proposes most legislation but private members' bills are allowed, except for money matters, which are the prerogative of the commissioner. Besides draft legislation, the council gives considerable time to policy papers in which the commissioner seeks advice or authority to take a particular course of action.

Parliament approved legislation in 1974 for the political development of the Northwest Territories. Amendments to the Northwest Territories Act increased the number of elected members of the territorial council from 10 to 15 and eliminated appointed members. Elections were held in March 1975 for the first entirely elected council. The new council selects its speaker from among its members; previously the commissioner was the presiding officer. Council also nominates three other members to the executive committee along with the commissioner, who is chairman, the deputy commissioner and an assistant commissioner. This committee advises the commissioner on broad policy matters and acts as a consultative body for him.

The justice minister is the attorney general of the Northwest Territories under the Criminal Code of Canada, with responsibility for criminal but not for civil matters or the constitution or organization of the courts (see Chapter 2). Law enforcement is provided

by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Administration. In 1963 a full-time commissioner was appointed and charged with building up a territorial administration located initially in Ottawa. In September 1967 the commissioner and about 50 staff members moved to Yellowknife and assumed responsibility for the game management service, municipal affairs, the issuing of all licences, tax collection and the operation of the liquor system (already staffed by territorial contract employees). Operational responsibility for other government services was transferred from federal to territorial control in the Mackenzie District in April 1969, and in the Eastern Arctic in April 1970. The territorial government carries out its administration through five program and six service departments, each under the direction of a senior public servant reporting to one member of the executive. The field staff is organized into four regions with regional directors at Fort Smith, Inuvik, Frobisher Bay and Rankin Inlet.

Continuing federal responsibility. The Government Organization Act charges the minister of Indian affairs and northern development with responsibility for the development of the North and for the general co-ordination of federal activities in the area. Other federal government agencies, such as the northern health service of the national health and welfare department and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, are responsible for health and police services with the territorial government sharing their costs. The ministry of transport operates main line airports throughout the North; the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation provides live radio and television service via Anik and special shortwave northern broadcasts, and maintains local stations in the territories. Federal cost-shared national assistance programs, appropriate to territorial needs, are available to it on the same conditions as they are to the provinces.

Extensive financial assistance is given to the territorial government under special federal-territorial agreements. These agreements allocate the financial responsibility of

each government for the provision of services in the territories.